Coachella Day 1 – April 20, 2012 – The Evening

Well, I have to admit the main reason I broke this up was sheer exhaustion last night.  There’s just so much to say and describe!  It may take me a few days, but I will get it all out there.  And, I also would like to just say thank you to each of your for taking time to read my thoughts.  I had a very cool jump  in page views yesterday and it’s both motivating and scary to think there are actually people out there reading my ramblings.

So a heartfelt thank you to everyone who has stopped by in the past couple days.

Here goes with my evening Day 1

After Dawes I finally decided it had cooled enough to head to the Outdoor Stage.  I really couldn’t miss it, since it was Madness, a band I loved going back to the early 80’s and that I’d never seen.  By the time I’d arrived, I missed the opening couple numbers.  But still arrived in time to hear them burst into “My Girl” followed by “The Sun and the Rain” then “Taller than you are” with a great bit played by the horns of “California Girls” by the Beach Boys.

They were very tight and seasoned pros at working the crowd.  The banter by Suggs focused on how much money they’d lost in Las Vegas on their stop there a couple nights before.  Basically, it was everything you’d hope for from a Madness show….and it only took me 30 years to see one!

They did one song I’m not as familiar with, but judging from other recent set lists I think that it was “Ironshirt.  Then they reeled off a string of familiar songs and the hits….”Bed and Breakfast Man”, “Forever Young” (Dedicated to Suggs daughter in the crowd), “House of Fun”, “Baggy Trousers”…the inevitable “Our House”  (why is it that the biggest hits are often not the most interesting song by a band?)….”It must be Love” and then they wrapped with “Madness” and “Night Boat to Cairo”.

It was brilliant to sit there as the sun finally set and hear songs I’ve listed to for 30 years played by a crack band of musicians.  One of my top five sets of the whole weekend.  I had a brilliant time.

It was a short jaunt to the Main Stage where Pulp was just underway.  I’d seen Pulp the night before in Pomona (That review is still to come), and even though I missed the first couple songs they were just as epic the second night in a row.

Prior to seeing them, I really had no idea just how brilliant a frontman Jarvis Cocker is.  The standout cuts of the set for me were “Disco 2000”, “Sorted for E’s & Wizz” (Including a 4-20 joke about the smoke on stage”, “This is Hardcore” (which just had a awesome, creepy vibe), “Sunrise” (not as epic as the night before, but still amazing) and of course “Common People” which prompted a nice sing along.

This band is nearly criminally unknown in the US.  Mostly due to lack of touring.  The last time they played this area was 1996….But, they are in the same league with Oasis and Blur from the 90’s Brit Invasion era.  I can’t really compare line ups of the band, but I will say that this band was awesome and I really hope that it’s not the last time they come here and perform.

I could only find a full show of the Coachella clips that weren’t crowds shot and shaky…so, here’s a better clip of them from the Brit Awards:

So, that’s a pretty fine run of three bands….Dawes, Madness and Pulp.  A heck of nice roll….would it continue?

I wasn’t really interested in the Black Keys….I like a lot of blues, but their stuff has never really moved me.  So, I decided to head back to the Mojave tent and hear The Rapture and M-83.  Apparently I missed John Fogery guesting with the Black Keys on “The Weight”….but, I’ve seen John a few times and overall I think I made the right decision.  (Face it, you’re always going to miss stuff at a festival, so you just can’t let it bother you much.  If it’s meant to be for you, it’ll happen…otherwise, just enjoy what you do pick and the choices you make.)

I’d seen them on the web stream the week before and they were danceable, tight and had the whole Mojave Tent rocking.  They finished with a triple shot of “Echoes”, “Sail Away” and “How Deep is you Love”….which I found sort amusing since those are all titles of songs by other artists that I like (Pink Floyd, Randy Newman and Bee Gees)…but, all of the songs played were original songs by the Rapture.

Love the music guys….But, maybe you should spend a little more time on the whole song-naming-thing…

M-83 had a big buzz prior to the show and I decided they would be a good way to wrap up my night.  They drew a huge crowd and while I’m not knowledgable enough about their catalog to quote a set list….it rocked.  They reminded me a bit of Hot Chip who I saw at Glastonbury.  Very danceable and fun electronic based music.

Well, I did know Midnight City, as it’s been pretty hard to miss.  I don’t see any good clips of it from the festival, so here’s one from last week filed at the Music Box in Hollywood.

There was so much to choose from, I was sad to have missed Arctic Monkeys (too hot), Jimmy Cliff (did hear “The Harder they come” from a distance), Mazzy Star (the web stream just didn’t impress me), Explosions in the Sky (conflicted with M-83) and The Sheepdogs (also too hot).  But, I really felt even with the heat I got a lot of music stuff into a single day on Friday.

I let the crowd disperse from M-83 and headed to the ADA booth to try and get a ride back to the shuttle to not have to make the insanely long walk that they had created for the hotel shuttles.  Sadly, no one was there at that moment, so I ended up striking out and taking the better part of a hour to get to my shuttle….all the while I got to listen to Swedish House Mafia….honestly, without the lasers and the screens….it’s not that great to listen to…especially when you’re hobbling along over a mile on bad knees you’ve already been walking on for 14 hours.  Really, it was the only blemish on an otherwise nearly perfect day.

I think I finally made it back to my room around 2am and got to fall into bed to try and prepare for day 2.

Leave a comment

Filed under Coachella, Other concerts

Leave a Reply

