Saturday “must see” list

So here it sit tonight, worn out from a four mile walk with light pack (trying to get ready for all the walking) and a hard cider in my hand (a festival tradition I’m told, so getting ready for that as well.)

We’ve covered Friday’s clashfinder so now lets move on to Saturday:

The early part of the day has no really compelling acts that I need to see so far.  The openers for the main stage have been announced and it was a little bit of a letdown after all the build up about the 40 anniversary.  Saturday is someone called “Tinchy Strider”…apparently a rapper, apparently a pass for me.  However on the Park stage is someone a little interesting…Candi Staton.  Nothing like a blast of disco to start the morning.

Next up will be the Lighting Seeds or Reef.  Unless something else grabs my attention.  Don’t know much about either band, just know the names really.  Then, maybe off to see Coheed & Cambria?  Listened to a little of their stuff and it’s interesting in a “Rush” sort of way.

But then is my first real clash of the day.  Do I leave Jackson Browne early to see Imogen Heap?  I have three shots at seeing Jackson, but he never disappoints.  Imogen is a wild card, I know a little of her stuff.  So, I guess I’ll just have to see how JB’s set starts then decide if I should slip away halfway through.

Then, comes another slot where I see some names I know, but nothing excites me enough to say that I really have to see any of them.  So, I’ll likely see some mix of Seasick Steve, Kate Nash, Devendra Banhart, Beach House and the Avett Brothers.  I hope something out of that list grabs my ears.  Then, Dead Weather is playing, and I’ve hear lots of critical raves…but the couple songs I know didn’t grab me that much.  I may opt for the National who I have a couple CD’s by and find a bit more to my taste.

Now comes a three-fer on the acoustic stage.  Al Stewart into Imelda May into Nick Lowe.  Two of my favorite songwriters sandwiched around a young rockabilly singer with some great pipes.  Looking forward to settling in and relaxing after all the rushing around in the afternoon.  Now that means I’ll likely miss Shakira, the Cribs, the Editors and the Scissor Sisters…can’t be helped, seeing Nick Lowe is a rare chance I can’t pass on.  And even though I’ve seen Al Stewart many times, to see him at Glastonbury (he played the 1st one in 1970) is another rare treat I can’t pass on.  That means I’ll also miss Laura Marling, but I’ll see her in London the following week, so more about her later.

But, the closer of the day presents a difficult decision.  Muse, Pet Shop Boys, Parliament or Midlake?  Muse is “the next big thing”…seen PSB and Parliament….so while I’d be happy to see either of them again, I have to look to the pair I haven’t seen live.  That being said…Midlake has really caught my ear with their new CD “Courage of Others”.  Great moody prog-ish rock.  Plus, it will be MUCH less crowded and I’m there to see cool new stuff.  So, I’m leaning toward Midlake, but Muse may draw me in.  Or, I may see how Muse starts off and then rush to Midlake?  Decisions, decisions….

So, Saturday really has two big clashes (Muse or Midlake & Jackson Browne or Imogen Heap), the rest is made of of “must see’s” or “don’t cares that much”…

Leave a comment

Filed under Glastonbury

Leave a Reply

